Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Stakes Likely to Split Outside the United States and Canada

Below is an updated list of likely stakes to split within the near future.  The most recent list of likely stakes to split is from November 2011 and can be found here.

  • Aba Nigeria (13 wards, 1 branch)
  • Brazzaville Republic of Congo (9 wards, 4 branches)
  • Bulawayo Zimbabwe (9 wards, 6 branches, 2 groups)
  • Katuba DR Congo (10 wards, 2 branches)
  • Kumasi Ghana (11 wards, 3 branches)
  • Lubumbashi DR Congo (11 wards)
  • Takoradi Ghana (10 wards)
  • Butuan Philippines (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Cavite Philippines (12 wards) 
  • Cebu Philippines Liloan (10 wards, 2 branches)
  • Singapore (10 wards)
  • Chimaltenango Guatemala (10 wards, 3 branches) 
  • Choluteca Honduras (11 wards, 1 branch)
  • Fesitranh Honduras (9 wards, 4 branches)
  • La Ceiba Honduras (10 wards)
  • Managua Nicaragua (10 wards)
  • San Salvador El Salvador La Libertad (10 wards, 3 branches)
  • Santo Domingo Dominican Republic Ozama (10 wards)
  • Amecameca Mexico (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Celaya Mexico (11 wards)
  • Chalco Mexico (10 wards)
  • Chilpancingo Mexico (10 wards, 5 branches)
  • Ciudad Victoria Mexico (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Coatzacoalcos Mexico Puerto (13 wards)
  • Colonia Juarez Mexico East (11 wards)
  • Culiacan Mexico (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Jalapa Mexico (10 wards)
  • Juchitan Mexico (10 wards, 3 branches)
  • Mexico City Anahuac (11 wards)
  • Mexico City Chapultepec (10 wards)
  • Mexico City Cuautitlan (11 wards)
  • Mexico City Culturas (11 wards)
  • Mexico City Iztapalapa (10 wards)
  • Mexico City Tecamac (11 wards)
  • Mexico City Tepalcapa (11 wards)
  • Mexico City Valle Dorado (11 wards, 1 branch)
  • Oaxaca Mexico Monte Alban (10 wards, 3 branches)
  • Veracruz Mexico Villa Rica (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Villahermosa Mexico Gaviotas (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Ha'apai Tonga (9 wards, 5 branches) 
  • Liverpool Australia (11 wards)
  • Newcastle Australia (10 wards, 2 branches)
  • Pesega Samoa (10 wards)
  • Brasilia Brazil Alvorada (10 wards, 2 branches)
  • Buenos Aires Argentina Castelar (10 wards)
  • Cochabamba Bolivia Jaihuayco (10 wards)
  • Godoy Cruz Argentina (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Guayaquil Ecuador Pascuales (11 wards)
  • Joao Pessoa Brazil Rangel (10 wards)
  • Juiz de Fora Brazil (11 wards)
  • Jujuy Argentina (10 wards, 3 branches)
  • La Paz Bolivia Miraflores (12 wards, 1 branch)
  • Lima Peru Canto Grande (10 wards)
  • Lima Peru Villa Salvador (11 wards)
  • Luque Paraguay (10 wards, 3 branches) 
  • Maipu de Cuyo Argentina (10 wards, 1 branch)
  • Quito Ecuador Chillogallo (11 wards)
  • Santa Cruz Bolivia Canoto (11 wards)
  • Santa Maria Brazil (10 wards, 1 branch)


James said...

In your analysis, do you consider number of church buildings already established in the stake/district?

I would think that an indicator of whether the Church splits a stake would include the number of wards in a building. For example, Chilpancingo has a relatively large stake but only one building is at capacity...

Mike Johnson said...

As the Katuba and Lubumbashi stakes in the DR Congo are right next to each other, I suspect we could soon see a third stake created from the two.

Matt said...

Not to sound picky, but I think you mean Ciudad Juarez East Stake and not Colonia Juarez East Stake.

Andy Nelson said...

I served recently in the Juiz de Fora Brazil Stake and although it does have many wards, it doesn't seem likely to split soon. A possibility, however, would be to realign the Juiz de Fora and Petrópolis Stakes. There are 3 wards in the state of Rio de Janeiro that belong to the Juiz de Fora Stake that aren't all too far from some of the wards in the Petrópolis Stake. The chapel of the Corrêas Ward in the Petrópolis Stake was built to be a stake center. If two wards were added to the Petrópolis Stake, there could easily be a stake just within Petrópolis (with the Petrópolis, Imperial, Alto da Serra, Coronel Veiga, a new ward, and the reopening of the Quitandinha Branch or maybe the stealing of the Piabetá Branch from the Rio de Janeiro Stake), a new stake with the Corrêas and Cascatinha Wards together with the three wards from the Juiz de Fora Stake on the Rio de Janeiro side of the state border (Três Rios, Paraíba do Sul, e Vila Isabel) and an additional one that would be created, and the Juiz de Fora Stake (Juiz de Fora, Jardim América, Grajaú, Bairu, Manchester, Nova Era, Cataguases, and Leopoldina Wards and possibly the reopening of the Muraé Branch).