Saturday, February 25, 2012

New Stake in Ontario, Canada

For the first time since 1996, the Church has created a new stake in Ontario, Canada.  The Barrie Ontario Stake was organized from the  Brampton Ontario and Kitchener Ontario Stakes and includes the following four wards and three branches: The Barrie, Newmarket, Orangeville, and Owen Sound Wards and the Midland, Orillia, and Stayner Branches.  Congregational growth has been relatively stagnant in Ontario over the past decade and the decision to organize the new stake may have been prompted to reduce travel times for stake leaders or in anticipation of branches maturing into wards. 

There are now 10 stakes and two districts in Ontario and 48 stakes and three districts in Canada.


The Chatelain's said...

I wanted to know what the status the Mississauga stake was? It did have five wards. Three of those wards are now in the Brampton stake, with the other two now in London and Kitchener. Hopefully it will remain its own stake after what appears to be some shifting between these stakes.

Kelli Bullock said...

Mississauga was dissolved. The wards were shifted to other stakes. Also London and Kitchener didn't get any wards from that stake. I think they went to Brampton and Hamilton. Kitchener got Brantford back from Hamilton in the shuffle.