Thursday, July 2, 2009

New District In South Africa

A new district of the Church was created in South Africa last Sunday. The Bloemfontein South Africa District was created from the Johannesburg South Africa Stake. The new district likely includes the Bloemanda, Bloemfontein, Botshabelo, and Thaba Nchu branches. I am not sure if branches from Lesotho and Kimberley are also included in the new district. There are now 11 stakes and three districts in South Africa.

We are likely to see more districts organized in South Africa in the months and years to come. There are nearly half a dozen mission branches scattered north of Johannesburg which could become a district. There are also a few branches around Klerksdorp, which is about 70 miles southeast of Johannesburg, which are part of one of the stakes in the Johannesburg area. There are other cities which are beginning to have multiple branches that are 50 miles or so away from the rest of the units in the stake or district the city belongs to. President Mann of the South Africa Durban Mission reported that about half a dozen or so new branches would be created in the coming months, most of which in the outskirts of the established stakes and districts in the mission.

1 comment:

Addison said...

YES Lesotho and Kimberely are apart of the District!